Prayers of our Homeless

Prayer Board UMC 2014I was fortunate enough on New Year’s Day to have the opportunity to kick off the new year with a group of Elevation Church volunteers at Urban Ministry Center in Charlotte, playing bingo and preparing and serving a traditional New Year’s Day meal for over 300 of our homeless neighbors.

That morning we asked the neighbors if they had prayer requests for the new year and many were quick to take the time to share with us. In looking through the prayer cards today, it feels overwhelming to try and tackle praying over all these requests by myself. So, I’m reaching out for your assistance if you feel inclined to assist.

I have posted the prayer requests below (names redacted) with hopes that you’ll join me in praying over them. Pick one or two or pray over the whole group. Every little bit helps.

For those that choose to join me, thank you!

The prayer requests: 

“Pray for my family and to pass classes.”

“Health for my body.”

“Mom – relationship. Family – restoration. Home – need one. Heaven – soon.”

“Strength to keep moving on.”

“Need a 60% VA benefit amount soon.”

“Praying family be safe. God looks over them. Guides my footsteps and forgives my sins.”

“Pray for my first granddaughter. Pray for my relationship. Pray that I not have the financial problems that I had last year.”

“Heal from nervous breakdown.”

“Pray for those in need, that God would provide work for those who want to work.”

“For housing, good health, prosperity.”

“To get out of my situation that I am currently in and to let God lead me this year. Don’t let the negative things get into the way of my goals. Also for my relationship with (name redacted) grow strong. Positive and happy just for God to work out for my family.”

“Peace, harmony, housing permanent, family.”

“Seeking stability for my life. Seeking a job that will secure my well being. Prayer to stop drinking as much. Prayer to get back to the church and get closer to the Lord.”

I am a diabetic and I also have heart disease, and ask God to make me healthy again so I can continue the Lord’s work. God is my only friend that really hears my cry to him.”

“Millionaire”

“Pray for (name redacted) girl friend in Florida Correctional Center.”

“For me to do God’s will and walk in his path. To have stable housing and continued care for my mother!”

“Restoration for my family, finances, shelter and sincere relationship with God. Also for God’s fair in my and my family’s life.”

“Good health. Long life. Keep faith with God.”

“New job at (redacted). My own apartment. Financial stability. Car/drivers license. Getting into college and making straight A’s.”

“My little girl, (name redacted).”

“Pray for comfortable and affordable housing and finance and to be a blessing to everyone.”

“Job in this year.”

“Interview and, God’s will, get the job and change his life.”

“My spiritual health to stay clean.”

“That all stiff, anger and negativity and negative activities and circumstances be moved. My expectations are to live a stress free and drama free life, not just this year but for every year. I ask that everyone’s prayer is answered in due time. I ask that my family, friends, and my relationship become more abundant. And prayer that I become who I wish to become (all positive).”

“I pray for God to keep me in his favor as I head forward in this new year. I pray for God to protect my family.”

“To get a job and to heal my boyfriends arthritis.”

“Prayer request housing, employment, financial support, family and friends.”

“I would like to get a mobil detailing and bumper repair started if it’s God’s will.”

“Kids graduate. Great education. Brother’s mental strength.”

“To find a job, be self sufficient for the new year. Be able to help others.”

“World peace and better economy.”

“Man will understand who the real Christ is and be born again.”

“Prayer for people and wealth and be happy. Good health.”

“For my mother to have a good and healthy year with lots of smiles.”

“I need prayer for my family in the name of Jesus for a place to stay.”

“I would like prayer for me to be spiritual with God and that God show me the way to be as one with God, and for my kids to be back home with me this year and I pray for my family.”

“Pray for a house we found to pass inspection so me, the wife and kids can move soon.”

“Asking prayers for many break throughs.”

“In 2014, I hope I start a new year out well: school, family, friends, sports and music. I hope my dreams come true this year, work toward my goal, focus in school and keep grinding with football and music. Also I want to give back.”

“Pray for me a better job. Pray for me better living conditions. Pray for me a good running cheap car.”

“To live a proper life and to find a house cheap enough.”

“Get out of being homeless and get my own place.”

“Pray for family happiness and a good new year.”

“Find a job and keep me in good health.”

“To get a place to stay of my own and a better job and help getting my family better at loving.”

“Prosperity.”

“Pray for me a better job.”

“I want to pray for a fresh start stepping into a new year and hope life picks up for the better. I pray that I find a job with a steady income that makes what is out of reach affordable/available for me in the future.”

“Deliverance from drugs and alcohol. Job, housing, closer walk with the Lord.”

About Bo Hussey

Passionate about my faith, family & work. Account Lead at Wray Ward. All things Broncos, Reds, Bobcats and Pearl Jam. Love helping others. Outreach liaison between Elevation Church and Urban Ministry Center. Safe Alliance Board of Directors. Acts 20:24 View all posts by Bo Hussey

One response to “Prayers of our Homeless

Leave a Reply

