The Right Place at the Right Time

I would never have guessed this would be my first blog post but, as I found out yet again, God has his own agenda.

Last Sunday, I stayed home from church nursing a cold and letting my girls get some much-needed sleep. For whatever reason, I spent some of that time opening a WordPress account, securing a domain name and messing around with WordPress. As is typical, I had a couple hundred other things I should have been doing but found this much more interesting.

As a bit of a back story, I have been attending the same local church since the mid-1990’s. I have always loved the atmosphere and the fact I could apply the messages from the pastor to my daily life. However, the last couple series of messages haven’t inspired me as much as before and the church’s current initiative, while very worthy, has left me less than energized.

The church is joining forces with an international non-profit to work for freedom for children all over the world suffering from human trafficking and slavery. The church is donating the entire offering received on Sunday, Dec. 19 and Friday, Dec. 24 to the organization. This is an amazing gesture as I’m sure the total offering will be more than $150,000.

However, I’ve struggled internally with our church sending all this money overseas when we have so much need in our local community. For example, within a 10-15 mile radius of the church, there are multiple “tent villages” with our homeless brothers and sisters sleeping out in the cold. Through my work at Goodwill, I hear daily about the tens of thousands living in poverty in our community. Shouldn’t we be making in an impact here — and, of all times, now while we’re fighting a three-year recession?!

For several weeks I’ve been feeling a push to visit Elevation Church’s new campus in Blakeney. So yesterday, I made the jump, attended my first service and knew God had placed me in the right place… at the right time. From the first notes of the opening song, I felt chills up and down my arms. Imagine my surprise a little later when Pastor Steven Furtick presented a check for $20,000 to the Matthews HELP Center as one of many contributions this week to local outreach partners. Just a small piece of the church’s $1.2 million they contributed to our local community in 2010.

Do I think it was a coincidence I was at Elevation to learn about the church’s impact on our community? Not a chance. Did I hear a passionate message about gratitude from Pastor Steven that I started applying to my life as soon as I walked out the church doors? Yes, I did.

I don’t mean this as a knock on my former church or even a blessing for Elevation. It’s really a testament that God has a plan for us. Every day. You just have to be willing to open your mind and your heart and listen. If you do, he’ll make sure you’re in the right place… at the right time.

About Bo Hussey

Passionate about my faith, family & work. Account Lead at Wray Ward. All things Broncos, Reds, Bobcats and Pearl Jam. Love helping others. Outreach liaison between Elevation Church and Urban Ministry Center. Safe Alliance Board of Directors. Acts 20:24 View all posts by Bo Hussey

16 responses to “The Right Place at the Right Time

  • Lelia

    Bo, what a passionate and inspiring first post. Thank you for sharing!

  • Scott Hepburn

    Welcome to the blogging brotherhood, Bo. Can’t tell you how stoked I am that you’re here.

    It’s tragic that so many people are struggling, around the world and right here in Charlotte. We can’t wait for Washington to fix it, or the U.N., or a far-away charity. The best way to help someone is to reach out a hand and help them up.

    Let me know anytime you have a service project and need a volunteer. My budget, like most, is stretched thin, but I’ll give of my time and energy whenever I can.

  • Jason

    Bo,
    The same thing was the biggest inspiration to Donna and I as well, when we first started attending Elevation. To see a church that strives to meet the needs of the community through partnerships was astounding to me. To see a church not so interested in hiring 28 pastors for their OWN outreaches and instead partner with those who are focused on it day in and day out, just seemed right.
    Glad you loved the experience, hope to see you around one of the experiences!

  • arden

    I’m such a huge Elevation fan! I attend the Uptown campus and yes, we really do think we’re that cool sometimes. My favorite part is when all four campuses worship together. And, as a library employee that sees so much poverty in our city that needs to be addressed, I too very much appreciate Elevation giving a portion of money to local Outreach partners.

  • Lorrie Hatley

    Bo – I have heard wonderful things about Elevation Church. It’s amzing how God continues to open doors for us. I’m happy that you continue to find ways to serve God!!

  • Ryan Case

    Wow, wish I had known, Misty and I go to Elevation and have always been impressed with their ability to give locally and internationally. The vision the church has to give to those who are already established in the types of help needed is way better than most. Churches sometimes get too involved in creating a ministry to help the homeless and use a lot of resources they collect to sustain the ministry. Elevation is of the mindset that they can give more to a group already established and support them better. Hopefully we’ll run into you at Blakeney soon. We’re going to the 23rd Christmas service. May have 2 extra tickets if you need them.

  • Mike Mahoney

    Very nice Bo! Look forward to more.

  • Ken

    Awesome! Jill and I are going to have to visit!

  • Andy Denton

    Bo,

    You are not alone in your sentiments. In the past few years I had my own frustrations and epiphanies about the local churches. The great blessing, though, that we have here in Charlotte is that we have the ability to wake up and choose from many incredible and inspiring churches to attend. I’m convinced that the urban dweller must utilize this luxury for our betterment.

    Some churches cater to a specific audience and usually have a specific mission – which is great. But, we as individuals change over time. We mature, refine our way of thinking and God works in our heart to give us new desires and ambitions. Having a great church community is vital. But, finding the community that best utilizes your skills and passions, and most importantly challenges your growth in the LORD is vital.

    See… church-hopping can be a good thing. 🙂

    I also appreciate your heart to affect the local community. As a board member for A Child’s Place, I see first hand the needs our city has. (~4500 homeless kids in CMS schools is alarming, and just wrong). We, as a community, can and must change this trend.

    I recall a year ago or so being at a church concert performance of the Daraja African Children’s Choir. A girl turned to me and said jokingly, but honestly, “I love little black kids. You could plop me down in the middle of Africa and I’d be very happy.” I wanted to scream… “there are little black kids HERE!!!! You don’t have to uproot yourself to fulfill the need to work with cute little kids. They are thousands in need just a 10 minute car ride away.”

    This in a nutshell describes my frustration with how Christians view service. The church does a great job of instilling the need for us to serve and to be the good Samaritan. But way too often, people feel they need to do this on the other side of the earth, in a foreign setting. WHY?!?!

    All service is noble, no doubt. But, like you, I see a great divide and need in Charlotte that needs to be tended to.

  • Emily A. Clark

    First off, love the name of your blog.

    Secondly, this is such a great post. I have had many of the same thoughts. . . So many needs; we just have to listen for God’s guidance.

    We have several good friends that go to Elevation and absolutely love it. (We go to Hickory Grove Baptist, btw, and couldn’t be happier there.)

    Emily

  • Brent Rinehart

    Bo,
    Nice post! It’s awesome when God speaks so clearly like this. I look forward to future posts…

    Brent

  • Patrick Darrow

    Bo,

    Well said! Your passion is inspiring! Looking forward to reading more…

  • Tonia Bendickson

    Thank you so much for your honest feedback, Bo.
    Welcome to Elevation!

  • Tammy Friedeck

    Welcome to the world of blogging. This post was very inspiring and I’m looking forward to reading even more.

  • Jonathan

    I stumbled upon your blog just looking at hashtags on Twitter, and I must say it was well written. My family has been attending Elevation since Easter, and in fact we drive from Lenoir to do it. Their impact on the local and international community is indeed powerful. Their impact on lives from week to week is the most astounding part. Pastor Steven delivers the Word solidly every week.

Leave a Reply

